Halifax

Jo-Ann Roberts is an award winning journalist and broadcaster. She retired from a 25 year career at CBC in December 2014. From 1994-2004, she was the host of Information Morning, based in Moncton and serving all of Eastern New Brunswick. She left New Brunswick to become the host of of All Points West, the CBC afternoon show that served most of British Columbia. She filled that role for 10 years, covering countless elections, the 2010 Winter Olympics and winning a national RTDNA award for her work covering the Stanley Cup Riots in Vancouver.

Jo-Ann was a federal candidate for the Green Party of Canada in the riding of Victoria in 2015, where she finished in a close second place, receiving almost 24,000 votes (more votes than 131 MPs who were elected!) Jo-Ann moved to Halifax in November 2017 to be close to family and has been active in the Halifax EDA and the Green Party of Nova Scotia. She was named Deputy Leader of the Green Party of Canada in March 2018.

Jo-Ann is married to Ken Kelly, an urban planner and a consultant specializing in Downtown Business Improvement Areas. They have four adult children, Christopher, Claire, Alyson and Meghan, and one grandchild, Georgia, who recently turned three. They are expecting a second grandchild in January.

In addition to her work has a journalist, Jo-Ann has worked as a media training consultant, a Communications Coordinator and a Crisis Communication Director. She was a founding partner and Vice-president of Media Relations Consultants (later Media Relations International) in Winnipeg. As well, she was Director of Communications at Mount Allison University. After the 2015 election, Jo-Ann served as the Advancement Consultant for Threshold Housing, a not-for-profit organization serving homeless and at-risk youth. She won the Building Better Futures Community Award for her work with Threshold. While living in Victoria, she was luck enough to also serve as a board member with the Victoria Foundation, Mount St. Mary Hospital and Victoria Literacy Connection.

Jo-Ann is excited to work with all the constituents of Halifax to build a bright and sustainable future for our city, province and country.

Halifax

Jo-Ann Roberts est une journaliste et une communicatrice réputée. Elle prend sa retraite après 25 ans de carrière à CBC/Radio-Canada en décembre 2014. Entre 1994 et 2004, elle anime l'émission Information Morning. Il s’agit d’une émission basée à Moncton et desservant tout l'Est du Nouveau-Brunswick. Elle quitte ensuite le Nouveau-Brunswick pour devenir l'animatrice de All Points West, l'émission de l'après-midi de la CBC qui a desservi la majeure partie de la Colombie-Britannique. Elle rempli ce rôle pendant 10 ans, couvrant d'innombrables élections, les Jeux olympiques d'hiver de 2010 et remportant un prix national de RTDNA pour son travail sur les émeutes de la Coupe Stanley à Vancouver.

Jo-Ann est candidate fédérale pour le Parti vert du Canada dans la circonscription de Victoria en 2015. Durant cette élection,elle termine en deuxième place, obtenant près de 24 000 votes (un nombre d e votes plus élevé que 131 des députés élus durant cette élections !) Jo-Ann déménage à Halifax en novembre 2017 pour se rapprocher de sa famille et est active dans l'ACE d’Halifax et le Parti vert de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Elle est nommée chef adjointe du Parti vert du Canada en mars 2018.

Jo-Ann est mariée à Ken Kelly, urbaniste et consultant spécialisé dans les zones d'amélioration commerciale du centre-ville. Ils ont quatre enfants adultes, Christopher, Claire, Alyson et Meghan, et un petit-enfant, Georgia, qui a récemment eu trois ans. Ils attendent un deuxième petit-enfant en janvier.

En plus de son travail de journaliste, Jo-Ann a travaillé comme consultante en formation médiatique, comme coordonnatrice des communications et comme directrice des communications de crise. Elle a été associée fondatrice et vice-présidente de Media Relations Consultants (plus tard Media Relations International) à Winnipeg. Elle a également été directrice des communications à l'Université Mount Allison. Après l'élection de 2015, Jo-Ann occupe le poste de conseillère en avancement pour Threshold Housing, un organisme sans but lucratif au service des jeunes sans abri et à risque. Elle remporte le prix communautaire Bâtir un avenir meilleur pour son travail avec Threshold. Lorsqu'elle vivait à Victoria, elle a eu la chance de siéger au conseil d'administration de la Victoria Foundation, du Mount St. Mary Hospital et de Victoria Literacy Connection.

Jo-Ann est heureuse de travailler avec tous les électeurs d'Halifax pour bâtir un avenir brillant et durable pour notre ville, notre province et notre pays.