Dartmouth—Cole Harbour

Lil MacPherson was born and raised in Nova Scotia, and is the founder and co-owner of The Wooden Monkey restaurants in Halifax and Dartmouth. Serving food with a conscience is the restaurant's mission and many awards have recognized their commitment to quality and sustainability. Lil believes that her business is the most powerful way to express her values, share her vision, serve her community and contribute to help create a healthier world.

Lil is a trained presenter for Al Gore's Climate Change Project, and has attended United Nations Climate Change Conferences in Copenhagen, Cancun, and Paris. She has traveled the world, from the Slow Food International Conference in Italy to a Chalice sponsor site in Africa, but her passion remains on local issues concerning food sustainability and supporting Nova Scotia farmers. Lil was also a Mayoral candidate in the 2016 municipal elections, the sole challenger to the incumbent Mayor, garnering over 30% of the vote. Lil has been busy these past fifteen years!

Lil is humbled to receive and accept countless invitations to speak on local food, health and environmental issues every year. Some of her most fond memories include serving as an opening panellist at the Power of Green Conference in Halifax, and presenting the convocation address to the Millwood High School graduating class of 2009 at the Rebecca Cohn Auditorium.

Lil is the recipient of the Halifax Chamber Best New Business of the Year award, and was the first woman to be recognized by the Chamber as Business Person of the Year. The Wooden Monkey is also a winner of the Better Business Bureau Maritimes Ethics award. Lil was also the founding chair of BALLE-NS, the Business Alliance for Local Living Economies, and spoke on their behalf for three years.

Lil believes that we need to confront issues like climate change and food insecurity with a sense of urgency, but that we should always maintain our sense of humour and community too. One of her favourite things to do in her spare time is retreat to her mountain hideaway, hop on her tractor, and enjoy time reconnecting with nature.

Lil looks forward to meeting even more of her neighbours as she works with the constituents of Dartmouth—Cole Harbour in 2019 and beyond.

Dartmouth—Cole Harbour

Lil MacPherson est née et a grandi en Nouvelle-Écosse et est la fondatrice et copropriétaire des restaurants The Wooden Monkey à Halifax et à Dartmouth. Bien servir les aliments est la mission du restaurant et de nombreux prix ont reconnu leur engagement envers la qualité et la durabilité. Lil estime que son entreprise constitue le moyen le plus puissant d'exprimer ses valeurs, de partager sa vision, de servir sa communauté et de contribuer à créer un monde plus sain.

Lil est une présentatrice formée pour le projet d'Al Gore sur le changement climatique et a participé aux conférences des Nations Unies sur le changement climatique à Copenhague, Cancun et Paris. Elle a voyagé dans le monde entier, de la Conférence internationale Slow Food en Italie à un site de parrainage de calices en Afrique. Cependant, sa passion demeure les questions locales concernant la durabilité alimentaire et le soutien aux agriculteurs de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Lil est également candidate à la mairie aux élections municipales de 2016. Elle est la seule adversaire du maire sortant et elle obtient plus de 30 % des voix. Lil fut très occupée au cours des quinze dernières années !

Lil est honorée de recevoir et d'accepter d'innombrables invitations à prendre la parole chaque année sur des questions d'alimentation, de santé et d'environnement locales. Parmi ses souvenirs les plus chers, elle a été membre du panel d'ouverture de la Power of Green Conference à Halifax et a prononcé le discours de remise des diplômes à la promotion 2009 de la Millwood High School à l'auditorium Rebecca Cohn.

Lil a reçu le prix de la meilleure nouvelle entreprise de l'année de la Chambre de commerce de Halifax et a été la première femme à être reconnue par la Chambre à titre de femme d'affaires de l'année. The Wooden Monkey  a également remporté le prix d'éthique du Better Business Bureau Maritimes. Elle fut également la présidente fondatrice de BALLE-NS, la Business Alliance for Local Living Economies et a parlé en leur nom pendant trois ans.

Lil estime que nous devons faire face aux problèmes comme le changement climatique et l'insécurité alimentaire avec un sentiment d'urgence, mais que nous devrions toujours conserver notre sens de l'humour et notre sens de la communauté. L'une de ses activités préférées dans ses temps libres est de se retirer dans sa cachette en montagne, de monter sur son tracteur et de profiter du temps pour renouer avec la nature.

Lil a hâte de rencontrer davantage de ses concitoyens alors qu'elle travaillera avec les électeurs de Dartmouth-Cole Harbour en 2019 et au-delà.