Daniel Green

Daniel Green

Mr. Green has worked for more than 30 years on the issue of toxic substances in the environment.  His mandate is popularizing scientific knowledge in the field of ecotoxicology and managing outreach and public information programs.

His interventions on the issue of environmental contamination have led him to cooperate with various environmental and citizen associations experiencing contamination problems in their communities.  Over the years, he has managed to build a capacity to understand complex scientific problems in ecotoxicology and make this knowledge accessible to the general public.

From 1980 to 2000, Mr. Green headed the Société pour Vaincre la Pollution (SVP), an organization founded in 1970. SVP is one of Canada’s pioneer environmental groups.  During his mandate, Daniel Green took public stands on almost all major issues dealing with environmental contamination affecting the province of Quebec and Canada.  He took part in most debates on the management of toxic substances in the country.

In the late 80s, when began a general withdrawal of the federal government and of provincial administrations from the field of environmental protection, Mr. Green took on the challenge of finding concrete ways to compensate this reduction in the environmental monitoring of toxic substances.  Thus, for the last 15 years, he has been promoting various programs to enable the general population to ascertain by themselves contamination levels of their local environment by certain toxic and pathogenic substances.  This is done by implementing community sampling programs of wildlife, soil, sediment, surface water and groundwater, monitored through analyzes in accredited laboratories.

Mr. Green publicly intervenes at the community level, in the media and before the courts to defend the right of citizens to a healthy environment.  His current domains of activity are reducing the contamination of waterways by toxic substances and pathogenic micro-organisms; rehabilitation of hazardous waste sites; monitoring hazardous waste incinerators; toxic air pollutants; and the prevention and rehabilitation of oil spills.

Since 2000, Mr. Green is a consultant with the Sierra Club of Canada, SVP, Coalition Eau Secours, Fondation Rivières, Nature Québec, Parks Canada, and various Canadian municipalities, and he continues to act on behalf of SVP as this organization’s co-president.

Mr. Green has received university training in biological sciences and environmental science.

Daniel Green

M. Green travaille depuis maintenant  plus de 30 ans sur la problématique des substances toxiques dans l'environnement. Son travail consiste à faire de la vulgarisation scientifique dans le domaine de l'écotoxicologie et gérer des programmes de sensibilisation et d'information du public.

Ses interventions sur la problématique de la contamination de l'environnement l'ont amené à travailler avec diverses associations environnementales et de citoyen aux prises avec des problèmes de contamination dans leurs milieux. Au cours des années,il a pu établir une capacité pour comprendre une problématique scientifique complexe en écotoxicologie et la rendre accessible pour le grand public.

Durant les années 1980 à 2000, M. Green dirigea  la Société pour vaincre la pollution (SVP), qui fut fondée en 1970.  La SVP est l'un des plus anciens groupes environnementaux du Canada. Durant sa période chez la SVP, M. Green est intervenu dans presque tous grands dossiers traitant des questions la contamination du milieu affectant la province de Québec et le Canada et il a été présent dans presque tous les débats visant la gestion des substances toxiques au pays.

Vers la fin des années 80, début de la période caractérisée par un désengagement du gouvernement fédéral et des provinces dans le domaine de la protection de l'environnement, M. Green s'est donné le défi de trouver des moyens concrets pour suppléer à la réduction des efforts de surveillance environnementale dans le domaine des substances toxiques. Ainsi, depuis 15 ans, il fait la promotion de divers programmes visant à permettre aux membres du  public général de connaître par eux même les niveaux de contamination de leur environnement local par certaines substances toxiques et pathogènes. Ceci est fait par l'instauration de programme communautaire d'échantillonnage de la faune, du sol, des sédiments et l'eau de surface et souterraine suivi par des analyses dans  des laboratoires accrédités.

M. Green  intervient publiquement au niveau communautaire, auprès des médias et devant les tribunaux pour défendre le droit des citoyens à un environnement sain. Actuellement, les domaines d'activité de M. Green portent sur la réduction de la contamination des cours d’eau par les substances toxiques et par les micro-organismes pathogènes; la réhabilitation des sites de déchets dangereux; la surveillance d'incinérateurs de déchets dangereux; les polluants atmosphériques toxiques; la prévention et la réhabilitation des déversements de pétrole.

Depuis 2000, M. Green agit comme consultant auprès du Club Sierra du Canada, de la SVP, de la Coalition Eau Secours, Fondation Rivières, Nature Québec,  Parcs Canada et divers municipalités canadiennes  et il continue d'agir au nom de la SVP à titre de co-président.

M. Green a reçu une formation universitaire en sciences biologiques et en science de l'environnement.