Convention Speaker - Sybren Kooistra

Sybren Kooistra


Biography

Campaign Manager, European Greens

Sybren believes that saving the world isn’t a childish dream, but a real goal to work towards throughout our lives!

Sybren began his career in investigative journalism and twice won the Tegel, the most prestigious journalism prize in the Netherlands, first for his exposés of a hypocritical populist politician and later for his role in founding the crowdfunded journalism platform Yournalism.

He then moved into the world of progressive politics, starting with the Obama campaign in 2008, before returning to his home in the Netherlands to become the creative lead for the Dutch Greens, GroenLinks. In the 2017 federal election, with Sybren directing the party’s field organizing operation and its wildly popular social media campaign, Groenlinks surged from one of its lowest points to an unprecedented 14 seats in the Dutch parliament, making it the largest progressive party in the country.

Sybren went on to run GroenLinks’ campaign in the 2018 Dutch municipal elections, where the party succeeded in electing the first Green mayor of Amsterdam, Femke Halsema, and helped to form government in nine of the Netherlands’ largest cities.

Now the Campaign Manager for the European Greens leading into the 2019 European Parliament elections, Sybren remains inspired to save the world by advocating for Green, progressive values of equality, sustainability, and justice.

Convention Speaker - Sybren Kooistra

Sybren Kooistra


Biographie

Directeur de campagne, Verts européens

M. Kooistra croit que « sauver le monde » n’est pas un rêve enfantin, mais plutôt un objectif réel auquel nous devrions aspirer toute notre vie!

Il entame sa carrière en tant que journaliste d’enquête et remporte à deux reprises le prix Tegel, le prix de journalisme le plus prestigieux dans les Pays-Bas, la première fois pour ses révélations exposant l’hypocrisie d’un politicien populiste et la seconde fois pour son rôle dans la fondation de la plateforme de journalisme Yournalism.

Il effectue ensuite le saut dans le monde de la politique progressiste, d’abord dans la campagne du Président Obama de 2008, avant de retourner à sa terre natale pour devenir le chef créatif de la campagne des Verts néerlandais, GroenLinks. Aux élections fédérales de 2017, alors qu’il dirigeait les opérations de sollicitation des électeurs du Parti et sa campagne médiatique très populaire, GroenLinks connait une ascension fulgurante pour remporter 14 sièges au le Parlement néerlandais, en faisant le plus important parti progressiste du pays.

Il aide ensuite à la campagne de GroenLinks lors des élections municipales néerlandaises dans le cadre desquelles le Parti parvient à faire élire la première mairesse verte d’Amsterdam, Femke Halsema, et à former le gouvernement de neuf des plus grandes villes des Pays-Bas.

Maintenant directeur de campagne pour le Parti vert européen à l’approche des élections du Parlement européen de 2019, il est toujours animé de son désir de sauver le monde en militant en faveur des valeurs progressistes vertes — l’égalité, la durabilité et la justice.