Steveston—Richmond East

Nicole Iaci was born and raised in Richmond, BC. Today, Nicole is a practicing lawyer based in Vancouver working exclusively for First Nations across British Columbia. Nicole was motivated to join the Green Party of Canada as a candidate for Parliament based on a mutual belief in climate justice, truth-seeking and an honest commitment to partnering with Indigenous Nations for a sustainable and vibrant future for all Canadians.
 
Nicole received her undergraduate degree from the University of Victoria, majoring in History and Political Science, before obtaining her Juris Doctor at the University of British Columbia where she received specializations in Aboriginal Law and Environmental and Natural Resource Law.
 
Nicole has always had a keen interest in volunteering and advocating for her peers and greater community. In law school, Nicole was elected by her peers to serve as Co-President of the Indigenous Law Students' Association, as well as the Director of Indigenous Student Affairs. During her time at the University of Victoria, Nicole was elected by her fellow undergraduate student body to serve as a Director at Large for the University of Victoria Students' Society as well as a Student Senator representing the Faculty of Social Sciences.
 
Nicole is a proud member of Kwantlen First Nation based in Fort Langley, British Columbia. Before she began practicing law, Nicole worked for her First Nation in their Lands and Resources department and business company. She also has experience working for non-profit organizations including through a Pro Bono Students Canada placement with West Coast Environmental Law in Vancouver, BC and at an internship with the Indian Law Resource Center in Washington, DC.

Nicole currently serves on the Executive for the CBA BC Aboriginal Lawyers Forum and CBA BC Young Lawyers Advisory Committee. She was also a member of the CBA BC Truth and Reconciliation Working Group tasked with producing a report in response to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's Calls to Action. Aside from her legal practice, Nicole enjoys travel, photography, the outdoors and is an avid sports fan.

The Green Party of Canada is excited to introduce Nicole Iaci as our candidate for the Steveston-Richmond East Riding.

Steveston—Richmond-Est

Nicole Iaci est née et a grandi à Richmond, en Colombie-Britannique. Aujourd'hui, elle est une avocate praticienne basée à Vancouver qui travaille exclusivement pour les Premières nations de la Colombie-Britannique. Nicole est motivée à se joindre au Parti vert du Canada en tant que candidate en raison de sa croyance en la justice climatique, de sa recherche de la vérité et de son engagement honnête à s'associer aux nations autochtones pour un avenir durable et dynamique pour tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes.
 
Nicole a obtenu son diplôme de premier cycle de l'Université de Victoria, avec une majeure en histoire et en sciences politiques, avant d'obtenir son doctorat en droit à l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique où elle s'est spécialisée en droit autochtone et en droit de l'environnement et des ressources naturelles.
 
Nicole a toujours eu un vif intérêt pour le bénévolat et la défense des intérêts de ses pairs et de la collectivité en général. À la faculté de droit, Nicole a été élue par ses pairs au poste de coprésidente de l'Association des étudiants autochtones en droit ainsi qu'à celui de directrice des affaires étudiantes autochtones. Au cours de son séjour à l'Université de Victoria, Nicole a été élue par ses camarades étudiants de premier cycle pour occuper le poste de directrice générale de la University of Victoria Students' Society et de sénatrice étudiante représentant la faculté des sciences sociales.
 
Nicole est fière d'appartenir à la Première nation de Kwantlen, établie à Fort Langley, en Colombie-Britannique. Avant de commencer à pratiquer le droit, Nicole a travaillé pour sa Première nation au sein du service des terres et des ressources et de l'entreprise commerciale. Elle a également travaillé pour des organismes sans but lucratif, notamment dans le cadre d'un stage pro bono Students Canada auprès de West Coast Environmental Law à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique, et d'un stage au Indian Law Resource Center à Washington, DC.

Nicole siège actuellement à l'exécutif du Forum des avocats autochtones de l'ABC de la Colombie-Britannique et du Comité consultatif des jeunes avocats de l'ABC de la Colombie-Britannique. Elle a également été membre du groupe de travail de l'ABC sur la vérité et la réconciliation. Ce groupe est chargé de produire un rapport en réponse aux appels à l'action de la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation de la Colombie-Britannique. En plus de sa pratique juridique, Nicole aime les voyages, la photographie, le plein air et est une grande adepte des sports.

Le Parti vert du Canada est heureux de présenter Nicole Iaci comme  candidate pour la circonscription de Steveston-Richmond Est.