Red Deer—Mountain View

Conner Borle has called the Red Deer area home since first moving there in 1999. Though he has been away for periods due to school, work, and travel, he has always returned to this community. 

In 2014, he co-founded a residential contracting business with a focus on sustainable construction, which he continues to operate with his brother. Since earning his B.Ed. from the University of Alberta in 2015, he has also taught in the Red Deer Catholic Regional School Division where he was their nominee for the Edwin Parr Award for Excellence in First Year Teaching. 

Conner was first attracted to the Federal Green Party for their deep commitment to families and communities. Having lived in numerous locations both nationally and internationally, Conner knows the difference that a supportive and strong community can make in overcoming obstacles and taking advantage of opportunities. Instead of separating people along political lines, Conner is interested in how Albertans can work together to build and maintain the kinds of connected and supportive communities that characterized many early prairie settlements. He is convinced that the Green Party’s approach to good governance —in which MPs are accountable to their constituents and not their party— is key to bringing federal politics in line with local issues. 

Building on strong communities, Conner sees Alberta as the best possible place to break ground on a strong, diverse, and sustainable economy. As a business owner, Conner knows first-hand the challenges of juggling economic, social and environmental concerns. He is eager to see how he can work to unleash the creative entrepreneurial spirit in Alberta, with a particular interest in supporting local businesses who reinvest their profits in our communities.

Conner doesn’t just talk about building communities — he does it. He has mentored youth while coaching basketball, football and rugby; volunteers his labour through his business to individuals and community organizations in need; and is a long time supporter and member of Our Lady of Victory Camp, a Central Alberta summer camp for kids. 

Whether it is because he has been out camping and canoeing, or because he is covered in sawdust from a day of work, Conner isn’t likely to look as prim and proper as some of today’s “professional” politicians. As a Math and Science teacher he also may not always use the exact right words, but that is not what is important to him. He would prefer to spend his time actually getting work done rather than just playing the part. His family and friends —even the non-Green ones— would not hesitate to admit he is sincere in his efforts to build strong, thriving communities.

Red Deer—Mountain View

Conner Borle habite la région de Red Deer depuis 1999. Malgré ses absences pour des périodes dues aux études, au travail et aux voyages, il revient toujours dans sa communauté. 

En 2014, il participe à la fondation d’une entreprise de construction résidentielle axée sur la construction durable qu'il exploite toujours avec son frère. Depuis l'obtention de son baccalauréat en éducation de l'Université de l'Alberta en 2015, il a enseigné dans la Red Deer Catholic Regional School Division où il fut mis en nomination pour le prix Edwin Parr d'excellence en enseignement de première année. 

Conner est d’abord attiré par le Parti vert Fédéral en raison de son profond engagement envers les familles et les communautés. Ayant vécu à de nombreux endroits sur la planète, Conner est conscient de la différence qu'une communauté forte et solidaire peut exercer pour surmonter les obstacles et profiter des opportunités. Au lieu de séparer les gens en fonction de leurs allégeances politiques, Conner s'intéresse à la façon dont les Albertains peuvent travailler ensemble pour bâtir et maintenir le genre de collectivités inclusives et solidaires qui caractérisent bon nombre des premiers établissements des Prairies. Il est convaincu que l'approche du Parti vert en matière de bonne gouvernance - selon laquelle les députés doivent rendre des comptes à leurs électeurs et non à leur parti - est essentielle pour harmoniser la politique fédérale avec les enjeux locaux. 

Misant sur des collectivités fortes, M. Conner considère l'Alberta comme le meilleur endroit possible pour jeter les bases d'une économie forte, diversifiée et durable. En tant que propriétaire d'entreprise, Conner connaît bien les défis de la conciliation des préoccupations économiques, sociales et environnementales. Il est impatient de voir comment il peut travailler pour libérer l'esprit d'entreprise créatif en Alberta, avec un intérêt particulier pour soutenir les entreprises locales qui réinvestissent leurs profits dans nos collectivités.

Conner ne se contente pas de parler de bâtir des communautés - il il passe à l’action. Il encadre des jeunes tout en étant entraîneur de basket-ball, de football et de rugby, il fait du bénévolat auprès d'individus et d'organismes communautaires dans le besoin et il est un partisan de longue date et membre du camp Our Lady of Victory, un camp d'été pour enfants du centre de l'Alberta. 

Que ce soit parce qu’il apprécie le camping et le canoë ou parce qu'il est couvert de sciure de bois après une journée de travail, Conner n'aura probablement pas l'air aussi « politiquement correct » que certains politiciens « professionnels » d'aujourd'hui. En tant que professeur de mathématiques et de sciences, il n'utilise pas toujours les bons mots, mais ce n'est pas ce qui est important pour lui. Il préférerait passer son temps à faire son travail plutôt qu'à jouer un rôle. Sa famille et ses amis - même ceux qui ne sont pas verts - n'hésiteraient pas à admettre qu'il est sincère dans ses efforts pour bâtir des communautés fortes et prospères.