Medicine Hat—Cardston—Warner

Shannon Hawthorne has been an Alberta resident her whole life and has lived in Calgary since 2013, when she moved to start her higher education. She holds a BA from the University of Calgary and a Legal Assistant Diploma from SAIT. She currently serves as Volunteer Coordinator for the Brenda Strafford Centre for the Prevention of Domestic Violence. Throughout her career, Shannon has focused on LGBTQ2S+ advocacy and eliminating gender-based violence.
 
This is Shannon’s first campaign. She felt compelled to run for office because she believes it is critical that we are focused on meaningful action in response to climate change, and to prioritize the end of colonialism and the oppression of the Indigenous Peoples of our nation. Shannon believes in removing barriers and providing necessary support to all members of vulnerable populations in our society.
 
Shannon currently volunteers at a local spin studio, YYC Cycle, and sits on the Canadian Cancer Society’s Run for the Cure Committee. Shannon enjoys kayaking, hiking, reading, and travelling, including her previous travel to nine provinces and one territory with friends and family.

Medicine Hat—Cardston—Warner

Shannon a été résidente de l'Alberta toute sa vie et vit à Calgary depuis 2013, année où elle a déménagé pour commencer ses études supérieures. Elle détient un baccalauréat ès arts de l'Université de Calgary et un diplôme d'assistante juridique du SAIT. Elle est actuellement coordonnatrice des bénévoles pour le Brenda Strafford Centre for the Prevention of Domestic Violence. Tout au long de sa carrière, Shannon s'est concentrée sur la défense des droits des LGBTQ2S+ et l'élimination de la violence sexiste.

Il s’agit de la première campagne de Shannon et elle se sent obligée de se présenter aux élections parce qu'elle croit qu'il est essentiel que nous nous concentrions sur des mesures significatives en réponse aux changements climatiques et que nous donnions la priorité à la fin du colonialisme et à l'oppression des peuples autochtones de notre pays. Shannon croit qu'il faut éliminer les obstacles et fournir le soutien nécessaire à tous les membres des populations vulnérables de notre société.
 
Shannon fait actuellement du bénévolat dans un studio de presse local, YYC Cycle, et siège au comité de la Course à la vie de la Société canadienne du cancer. Shannon aime le kayak, la randonnée pédestre, la lecture et les voyages, y compris ses voyages antérieurs dans neuf provinces et un territoire avec ses amis et sa famille.