Foothills

Bridget Lacey is a fifth-generation Albertan living on her family farm in the high country region of Foothills County in southwestern Alberta. Her parents were among the first greenhouse growers to seek organic certification in Alberta in the 1990’s, orienting Bridget toward the importance of healthy and sustainable local food production.
 
Bridget works as a municipal public servant with a specialization in legislative services, offering support to the elected council and across the various departments of the small municipality. She especially enjoys working on communications projects and has a strong interest in community services and economic development.  
 
Bridget attended the University of Calgary, where she studied economics, English and philosophy. She went on to spearhead projects such as a sustainable “Green Market” on 17th Avenue in Calgary, and a community supported agriculture (CSA) project in cooperation with a number of young permaculturalists in her hometown. Studying permaculture and regenerative agriculture has given Bridget hope that we can still learn to live sustainably on this planet in a manner that is in alignment with the patterns and flows of the natural world.
 
Working this past spring with Canadians from coast-to-coast on developing ideas around a Green New Deal for Canada has solidified for Bridget that our nation’s citizens are ready to mobilize to bring about real change in the political, social and economic fabric of our nation.  She is working on building a grassroots revolution, gathering support behind the solutions and solution-makers our communities must support in order to create a sustainable and prosperous future on a livable planet.
 
The Green Party inspires Bridget with the courageous stand it takes in defence of the Earth and the people who live upon it. Having the opportunity to join forces with like-minded citizens to influence the direction of government policy toward a brighter future is the deepest calling of her heart.
 
Bridget resides with her two young sons, Owen and Liam (Ozzy), in the house next door to her mom, Jackie. In her spare time, she enjoys gardening, singing (karaoke, mostly), yoga, strength training and writing.

Foothills

Bridget Lacey est une Albertaine de cinquième génération qui vit sur sa ferme familiale dans la région des hautes terres du comté de Foothills dans le sud-ouest de l'Alberta. Ses parents ont été parmi les premiers serriculteurs à demander la certification biologique en Alberta dans les années 1990. Ce faisant, ils initient Bridget à l'importance d'une production alimentaire locale saine et durable.
 
Bridget travaille comme fonctionnaire municipal avec une spécialisation dans les services législatifs, offrant son soutien au conseil élu et aux divers services de la petite municipalité. Elle aime particulièrement travailler sur des projets de communication et s'intéresse de près aux services communautaires et au développement économique.  
 
Bridget a étudié l'économie, l'anglais et la philosophie à l'Université de Calgary. Elle a ensuite dirigé des projets tels qu'un « marché vert » durable sur la 17e avenue à Calgary et un projet d'agriculture soutenue par la communauté (ASC) en collaboration avec un certain nombre de jeunes permaculteurs dans sa ville natale. L'étude de la permaculture et de l'agriculture régénératrice a donné à Bridget l'espoir que nous puissions encore apprendre à vivre durablement sur cette planète d'une manière qui soit en accord avec les modèles et les flux du monde naturel.
 
En travaillant avec les Canadiens et les Canadiennes d'un océan à l'autre au printemps dernier à l'élaboration d'idées sur un nouveau pacte vert pour le Canada, Bridget a compris que les citoyens de notre pays sont prêts à se mobiliser pour apporter des changements réels dans le tissu politique, social et économique de notre pays. Elle travaille à l'édification d'une révolution à la base, recueillant des appuis derrière les solutions et les créateurs de solutions que nos communautés doivent appuyer afin de créer un avenir durable et prospère sur une planète où il fait bon vivre.
 
Le Parti vert inspire Bridget par la position courageuse qu'il adopte pour défendre la Terre et les gens qui y vivent. Avoir la possibilité d'unir ses forces à celles de citoyens aux vues similaires pour influencer l'orientation de la politique gouvernementale vers un avenir meilleur est l'appel le plus profond de son cœur.
 
Bridget habite avec ses deux jeunes fils, Owen et Liam (Ozzy), dans la maison voisine de sa mère Jackie. Dans ses temps libres, elle aime jardiner, chanter (karaoké, surtout), faire du yoga, de la musculation et écrire.