Edmonton—Wetaskiwin

Emily Drzymala has lived in Alberta for over 30 years. Emily holds Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees as well as a Doctorate from the University of Calgary. Emily moved to Alberta from the Yukon to pursue graduate studies with the intention of returning to the Yukon. Instead, she and her three children made Alberta their “forever” home, and Emily’s family has expanded to include eight grandchildren and one great-grandchild.
 
Commitment to public policy and community service is a way of life for Emily. She was one of the founding members of the Alberta Environmental Network in the early 1980s. The work of the Network laid the foundation for what later became the Alberta Environmental Resource Centre. She completed her doctoral dissertation in the 1990s with a focus on how the relationship between public policy and bureaucracies influences the delivery of public services in health, education, justice, and child protection. As a Registered Social Worker in the Province of Alberta, Emily was President of the Alberta College of Social Workers when the College became regulated under the Alberta Health Professions Act in the early 2000s.
 
As a former faculty member at Red Deer College, Emily had the opportunity to listen to her students and members of the community, learning about the social, economic, and environmental concerns unique to the region and the different concerns in smaller communities versus those in Greater Edmonton.
 
Emily is running for the Green Party because the values underlying the party’s platform reflect her personal values. Her concern for climate justice is grounded in an obligation to preserve our planet for future generations. 
 
The Green Party is delighted to have Emily Drzymala as our candidate in the riding of Edmonton-Wetaskiwin.

Edmonton—Wetaskiwin

Emily Drzymala vit en Alberta depuis plus de 30 ans. Emily détient un baccalauréat, une maîtrise ainsi qu'un doctorat de l'Université de Calgary. Elle a quitté le Yukon pour s'installer en Alberta afin de poursuivre des études supérieures, tout en ayant l'intention de revenir au Yukon. Au lieu de cela, ses trois enfants et elle ont fait de l'Alberta leur foyer « pour toujours », et la famille d'Emily s'est élargie pour inclure huit petits-enfants et un arrière-petit-enfant.
 
Son engagement envers les politiques publiques et le service communautaire constitue un mode de vie pour Emily. Elle a été l'un des membres fondateurs de l'Alberta Environmental Network au début des années 1980. Le travail de ce réseau a jeté les bases de ce qui est devenu plus tard l'Alberta Environmental Resource Centre. Elle a terminé sa thèse de doctorat dans les années 1990 en se concentrant sur la façon dont la relation entre les politiques publiques et les bureaucraties influence la prestation des services publics en matière de santé, d'éducation, de justice et de protection des enfants. En tant que travailleuse sociale accréditée en Alberta, Emily a été présidente de l'Alberta College of Social Workers, notamment au moment où cet organisme a été assujetti à la Loi sur les professions de la santé qui a été adoptée par cette province au début des années 2000.
 
En tant qu'ancienne professeure au Red Deer College, Emily a eu l'occasion d'écouter ses étudiants et les membres de la communauté, d'en apprendre davantage sur les préoccupations sociales, économiques et environnementales propres à la région et sur les différentes préoccupations des petites collectivités environnantes par comparaison avec celles du Grand Edmonton.
 
Emily se présente pour le Parti vert parce que les valeurs qui sous-tendent le programme du parti reflètent ses valeurs personnelles. Son souci pour la justice climatique est fondé sur l'obligation de préserver notre planète pour les générations futures. 
 
Le Parti vert est ravi d'accueillir Emily Drzymala comme candidate dans la circonscription d'Edmonton-Wetaskiwin.