Toronto Centre

Annamie Paul is the Leader of the Green Party of Canada.

Annamie is an inaugural Action Canada Fellow, an Echoing Green Fellow for social entrepreneurship alumni, and a recipient of the Black Business and Professional Association Harry Jerome Award. She is also a Barrister and Solicitor (Law Society of Ontario) and holds a Master of Public Affairs from Princeton University and a Bachelor of Laws from the University of Ottawa. Annamie was born and raised in Toronto and speaks English, French, Catalan and Spanish. 

In her professional pursuits, Annamie has been a social entrepreneur and a public policy advocate dedicated to advancing a sustainable and inclusive future for Canadians. She is the founder and former Executive Director of the Canadian Centre for Political Leadership (CCPL), a non-profit that advocated for and trained women, LGBTQ+, Indigenous and racialised peoples to run for elected office and public leadership positions. Many of these CCPL trainees are now serving their communities in elected roles. Annamie also co-founded and co-directed the Barcelona International Public Policy Hub (BIPP HUB), an innovation hub that supports international NGOs that work on global challenges. 

Additionally, Annamie has more than 15 years of experience in international affairs and external relations, including working as the Brussels/EU Director for Crisis Action which is a leading conflict prevention NGO. She also served as an Advisor in the Office of the Prosecutor at the International Criminal Court. Lastly, she has worked as a Political Officer in Canada’s Mission to the European Union, where she was responsible for portfolios on human rights, development, and conflict prevention. 

In terms of community engagement and volunteerism, Annamie serves and advises on a number of Boards of non-governmental organisations, including: Climate Infrastructure Partnership (CLIP), Higher Education Alliance for Refugees (HEAR), Institute for Integrated Transitions (IFIT), as well as, Operation Black Vote Canada (OBVC). Annamie has equally been a member of the Steering Committee for Equal Voice Canada and has published articles, policy papers, and opinion pieces on social inclusion and representation in Canadian politics.

Toronto Centre

Annamie Paul est la cheffe du Parti vert du Canada.

Annamie est la toute première boursière d'Action Canada, à recevoir une bourse du programme Echoing Green pour les alumni de l'entrepreneuriat social. Elle a également reçu le prix Harry Jerome de la Black Business and Professional Association. Avocate du Barreau de l'Ontario, elle est titulaire d'une maîtrise en affaires publiques de l'Université de Princeton et d'une licence en droit de l'Université d'Ottawa. Annamie est née et a grandi à Toronto et parle l'anglais, le français, le catalan et l'espagnol. 

Dans le cadre de ses activités professionnelles, Annamie a été une entrepreneuse sociale et une défenseuse des politiques publiques visant à promouvoir un avenir durable et inclusif pour les Canadiens. Elle est la fondatrice et l'ancienne directrice exécutive du Centre canadien pour le leadership politique (CCLP), une organisation à but non lucratif qui défend et forme les femmes, les LGBTQ+, les peuples autochtones et racisés à se présenter aux élections et aux postes de responsabilité publique. Aujourd'hui, bon nombre de ces stagiaires du CCPL sont au service de leurs communautés dans des rôles d’élus. Annamie a également co-fondé et co-dirigé le Barcelona International Public Policy Hub (BIPP HUB), un centre d'innovation, qui soutient les ONG internationales se consacrant aux défis mondiaux. 

De plus, Annamie a plus de 15 ans d'expérience dans les affaires internationales et les relations étrangères, notamment en tant que directrice de Crisis Action à Bruxelles/UE, une ONG de premier plan dans le domaine de la prévention des conflits. Elle a également été conseillère au sein du Bureau du Procureur de la Cour pénale internationale. Enfin, elle a travaillé en tant que responsable politique à la Mission du Canada auprès de l'Union Européenne, où elle était en charge des Droits de l'Homme, du développement et de la prévention des conflits. 

En matière d'engagement communautaire et de volontariat, Annamie siège et prodigue ses conseils au sein de plusieurs conseils d'administration d'organisations non gouvernementales, comme notamment : Climate Infrastructure Partnership (CLIP), Higher Education Alliance for Refugees (HEAR), Institute for Integrated Transitions (IFIT), ainsi que Operation Black Vote Canada (OBVC). Annamie a aussi fait partie du comité directeur de À voix égales Canada et a publié des articles, des analyses politiques et des articles d'opinion sur l'inclusion sociale et la représentation dans la politique canadienne.