Spadina—Fort York

Dean Maher was born in St. John's, Newfoundland, and is now proud to call Toronto home. He is an entrepreneur and community leader who is active with a variety of organizations including the Toronto Humane Society and local LGBTQ+ groups.

Dean is especially concerned about the social, economic and environmental pressures that are being brought on by our increasingly connected and competing world. With the rise of global competition, artificial intelligence and autonomous systems, he believes we are facing a tipping point. Dean wants to get involved in public service because he knows we need more elected officials thinking about the impacts that precarious, part-time, underpaid and contract work are having on young Canadians.

Dean was drawn to the Green Party of Canada because he sees it as the only party with a smart vision for the future, one grounded in new economy jobs —especially in the green energy sector— that will be able to provide Canadians with secure, well-paying full-time jobs. He is particularly focused on the issue of climate change, and is passionate about moving our country away from a carbon-based economy and embracing sustainable industries.

Dean is a vegan and believes in a plant-based diet for the health of Canadians and the planet.   He considers himself socially liberal and fiscally conservative, and is an advocate for fact-based  and consensus-driven decision making.

Spadina—Fort York

Dean Maher est né à St. John's, Terre-Neuve, et est maintenant fier d'habiter Toronto. Il est un entrepreneur et un leader communautaire actif au sein de divers organismes, dont la Toronto Humane Society et des groupes LGBTQ+ locaux.

Dean est particulièrement préoccupé par les pressions sociales, économiques et environnementales qu'exerce notre monde de plus en plus branché et concurrentiel. Avec la montée de la concurrence mondiale, de l'intelligence artificielle et des systèmes autonomes, il estime que nous sommes confrontés à un point de basculement. Dean veut s'engager dans la fonction publique parce qu'il sait que nous avons besoin d'un plus grand nombre d'élus pour réfléchir aux répercussions que le travail précaire, à temps partiel, sous-payé et à contrat a sur les jeunes Canadiens.

M. Dean est attiré par le Parti vert du Canada parce qu'il le considère comme le seul parti doté d’une vision intelligente de l'avenir, une vision fondée sur les emplois de la nouvelle économie - en particulier dans le secteur de l'énergie verte - qui sera en mesure d'offrir aux Canadiens des emplois sûrs et bien rémunérés à temps plein. Il s'intéresse particulièrement à la question des changements climatiques et se passionne pour l'abandon de l'économie axée sur le carbone et l'adoption d'industries durables dans notre pays.

Dean est végétalien et croit en une alimentation à base de plantes pour la santé des Canadiens et de la planète. Il se considère socialement libéral et fiscalement conservateur et défend la prise de décisions fondées sur les faits et le consensus.