Sault Ste. Marie

Geo McLean was born and raised in Sault Ste. Marie and St. Joseph Island Ontario. He is a graduate of Quest University Canada, an innovative Liberal Arts and Science university in British Columbia. He currently works with the Canadian Mental Health Association as a Housing Support Worker, and Algoma District School Board as an Educational Assistant.

Geo studied nurturance, healthy masculinity, violence prevention, anti-oppression and restorative systems in his time at Quest U, and so the fundamental principles of the Green Party speak to him on an intellectual and visceral level. Geo believes political action is the single most effective thing he can do to do his part to mitigate the climate crisis.

Having started a Gay-Straight Alliance while in highschool, Geo has not stopped working with the Queer community. For example has managed his unversity's Gender Sex and Sexuality Resource Centre, and was a counsellor at the Rainbow Camp in Thessalon, Ontario. He has also worked for years with youth and adults who have developmental disabilities, and with people who suffer from mental illness and addiction.

Geo knows that the people most likely to be affected by the climate crisis are those who are already at risk and vulnerable. He believes that our fight for economic and social equity, indigenous sovereignty, electoral reform and climate change are all interlinked, and that the Greens are the only party taking an integrated approach to this endeavour.

Geo found his love for the Ontario wilderness, and his passion for protecting it, through Scouting, which he has been involved with since 2001. Geo is an avid cyclist who likes to bike for pleasure and for transport. He would love to see a proper network of bicycle paths built in Sault Ste. Marie. Geo has an avid interest in Deaf and Hard of Hearing culture, and is working on his proficiency with American Sign Language. At the age of 17, Geo went to Thailand for a year through Rotary Youth Exchange program.

Known for his creativity, compassion, and open mind, Geo is thrilled, humbled, and honoured to be a candidate for the Green party.

Sault Ste. Marie

Geo McLean est né et a grandi à Sault Ste. Marie et à l'île Saint-Joseph en Ontario. Il est diplômé de Quest University Canada, une université innovatrice en arts libéraux et en sciences de la Colombie-Britannique. Il travaille actuellement pour l'Association canadienne pour la santé mentale à titre de travailleur de soutien au logement et pour le Algoma District School Board à titre d'adjoint pédagogique.

Geo a étudié la nurturance, la masculinité saine, la prévention de la violence, l'anti-oppression et les systèmes réparateurs à l'époque de Quest U, et les principes fondamentaux du Parti Vert lui parlent sur un plan intellectuel et viscéral. Geo croit que l'action politique est la chose la plus efficace qu'il puisse faire pour faire sa part pour atténuer la crise climatique.

Après avoir lancé une Gay-Straight Alliance pendant ses études secondaires, Geo n'a pas cessé de travailler avec la communauté Queer. Par exemple, il a géré le Gender Sex and Sexuality Resource Centre de son université et a été conseiller au Rainbow Camp à Thessalon, en Ontario. Il a également travaillé pendant des années avec des jeunes et des adultes ayant une déficience intellectuelle, ainsi qu'avec des personnes souffrant de maladie mentale et de toxicomanie.

Geo sait que les personnes les plus susceptibles d'être touchées par la crise climatique sont celles qui sont déjà à risque et vulnérables. Il estime que notre lutte pour l'équité économique et sociale, la souveraineté autochtone, la réforme électorale et le changement climatique sont tous liés, et que les Verts sont le seul parti qui adopte une approche intégrée dans cette entreprise.

Geo a découvert son amour pour la nature sauvage de l'Ontario et sa passion pour sa protection par le biais du Scoutisme, auquel il participe depuis 2001. Geo est un cycliste passionné qui aime faire du vélo pour le plaisir et le transport. Il aimerait bien voir un réseau adéquat de pistes cyclables aménagées à Sault Ste-Marie. Geo s'intéresse passionnément à la culture des sourds et des malentendants et travaille sur sa maîtrise de la langue des signes américaine. A l'âge de 17 ans, Geo s'est rendu en Thaïlande pour un an dans le cadre du programme Youth Exchange du Rotary.

Reconnu pour sa créativité, sa compassion et son ouverture d'esprit, Geo est ravi, humble et honoré d'être candidat pour le Parti vert.