Ottawa-Centre

Angela Keller-Herzog is an optimistic and energetic small-business owner. Angela and her partner are the proud parents of two teenage kids and have lived in Ottawa Centre, on unceded Algonquin territory, for over twenty-five years.

Angela is running because she thinks it is time for bold and effective climate action. She is a trained economist, having received an M.A. in Economics from Carleton University, and envisions national solutions that promote a lower carbon economy and clean energy jobs that serve to make our society healthier and stronger.

Angela has diverse work and life experience, having called British Columbia, Ontario, Quebec, Indonesia and Germany home. In addition to having worked in the private sector for over ten years, Angela has worked for three different non-profit organizations and has fifteen years experience working for the federal government in international development. This work included representing Canada overseas and at United Nations conferences. She now runs an eco-friendly Bed & Breakfast called Angela’s B&B, which demonstrates the benefits of low carbon living. Angela also sits on the boards of the Ottawa Renewable Energy Co-op and CoEnergy Ontario Inc.

Angela believes in local action, taking responsibility and creating the world we want to live in. She is a co-founder and organizer of Ottawa Centre Refugee Action, a grassroots community organization which sponsored almost forty new arrivals to Ottawa at the time of the Syrian refugee crisis. She also led the Glashan Schoolyard Greening Project when her kids were in middle school, and now co-chairs the network Community Associations for Environmental Sustainability (CAFES), as well as the Environment Committee of the Glebe Community Association.

At the municipal level she has been an effective advocate for climate responsibility, budgetary and strategic priorities for term of council, protection of the urban forest and complete streets. She is a longstanding volunteer with Ecology Ottawa and has received multiple awards recognizing her progressive community leadership.

Ottawa-Centre

Angela Keller-Herzog est une propriétaire de petite entreprise optimiste et énergique. Elle et son partenaire sont les fiers parents de deux adolescents et vivent à Ottawa-Centre, en territoire algonquin non cédé, depuis plus de vingt-cinq ans.

Angela présente sa candidature pour le Parti vert car elle qu'il est temps de prendre des mesures audacieuses et efficaces pour lutter contre les changements climatiques. Économiste de formation, elle est titulaire d'une maîtrise en économie de l'Université Carleton et envisage des solutions nationales qui favorisent une économie à faibles émissions de carbone et des emplois dans le secteur de l'énergie propre qui contribuent à rendre notre société plus saine et plus forte.

Angela a une expérience de travail et de vie diversifiée. Elle a vécu en Colombie-Britannique, en Ontario, au Québec, en Indonésie et en Allemagne. En plus d'avoir travaillé dans le secteur privé pendant plus de dix ans, Angela a travaillé pour trois différents organismes sans but lucratif et possède quinze ans d'expérience au sein du gouvernement fédéral en développement international. Elle a notamment représenté le Canada à l'étranger et aux conférences des Nations Unies. Angela dirige maintenant un Bed & Breakfast écologique appelé Angela's B&B, qui démontre les avantages d'un mode de vie faible en carbone et elle siège également aux conseils d'administration de la Ottawa Renewable Energy Co-op et de CoEnergy Ontario Inc.

Angela croit en l'action locale, en la prise de responsabilité et en la création du monde dans lequel nous voulons vivre. Elle est cofondatrice et organisatrice d'Ottawa Centre Refugee Action, un organisme communautaire local qui a parrainé près de quarante nouveaux arrivants à Ottawa au moment de la crise des réfugiés syriens. Elle a également dirigé le Glashan Schoolyard Greening Project lorsque ses enfants étaient à l'école intermédiaire et copréside maintenant le réseau Community Associations for Environmental Sustainability (CAFES) ainsi que le comité environnemental de la Glebe Community Association.

Au niveau municipal, elle a défendu efficacement la responsabilité climatique, les priorités budgétaires et stratégiques pour le mandat du conseil municipal ainsi que la protection de la forêt urbaine et des rues entières. Bénévole de longue date d'Écologie Ottawa, elle a reçu de nombreux prix en reconnaissance de son leadership communautaire progressiste.