Leeds—Grenville—Thousand Islands and Rideau Lakes

Candidate: Lorraine Rekmans

Lorraine Rekmans has been an advocate for environmental and social justice issues through her work with both media and non-governmental organizations. With a background in journalism, Lorraine has extensive experience in policy development, government, industry, public affairs and Indigenous communities. She is the former Executive Director of the National Aboriginal Forestry Association, and has spent the majority of her career in the not-for-profit sector.

Lorraine was instrumental in a number of natural resource development initiatives in Northern Ontario before settling in Eastern Ontario in 2001. She was involved in setting up local forestry enterprises and in developing the first Aboriginal-owned forestry marketing co-operative in Canada. She has supported and advocated for sustainable use of natural resources through organizing, research, writing, advocacy and regional and national conferences.

As the former Executive Director of the National Aboriginal Forestry Association (NAFA), Lorraine worked on national and international forest policy. She has co-chaired an international dialogue on forestry at the UN Forum on Forests, and helped organize the World Forestry Congress at Quebec City. Lorraine assisted in writing a number of international declarations including the Indigenous Peoples Declaration on Forestry, which was submitted at the World Forestry Congress, in 2003.

Lorraine is the recipient of The Rosalie Bertell Award for outstanding service in the field of environmental health, from the International Institute of Concern for Public Health.

She is currently the Indigenous Affairs Critic in the Green Party Shadow Cabinet, and was a two time federal candidate for the Green Party in Algoma–Manitoulin—Kapuskasing. She divides her time between her duties in Ottawa, her work at her family business in Kemptville, and her work serving as Chair for the Grenville Centre for Social Studies.

She is dedicated to balancing her roles as advocate, mother, wife and grandmother. Lorraine is of Algonquin descent.

The Green Party of Canada is excited to have Lorraine Rekmans as our candidate in the riding of Leed–Grenville–Thousand Islands and Rideau Lakes.

Leeds—Grenville—Thousand Islands et Rideau Lakes

Lorraine Rekmans défend les questions d'environnement et de justice sociale de par son travail auprès des médias et des organisations non gouvernementales. Forte d'une formation en journalisme, Lorraine possède une vaste expérience de l'élaboration de politiques, du gouvernement, de l'industrie, des affaires publiques et des communautés autochtones. Ancienne directrice générale de l'Association nationale de foresterie autochtone, elle a passé la majeure partie de sa carrière dans le secteur sans but lucratif.
 
Lorraine joue un rôle déterminant dans un certain nombre d'initiatives de développement des ressources naturelles dans le Nord ontarien avant de s'établir dans l'Est ontarien en 2001. Elle participe à la mise sur pied d'entreprises forestières locales et au développement de la première coopérative de commercialisation forestière appartenant à des Autochtones au Canada. Elle soutient et préconise l'utilisation durable des ressources naturelles par l'organisation, la recherche, la rédaction, la défense des droits et les conférences régionales et nationales.
 
En tant qu'ancienne directrice générale de l'Association nationale de foresterie autochtone (ANFA), Lorraine a travaillé sur les politiques forestières nationales et internationales. Elle a coprésidé un dialogue international sur la foresterie au Forum des Nations Unies sur les forêts et a aidé à organiser le Congrès forestier mondial à Québec. Lorraine a contribué à la rédaction d'un certain nombre de déclarations internationales, dont la Déclaration des peuples autochtones sur la foresterie, qui a été présentée au Congrès forestier mondial en 2003.
 
Lorraine est la récipiendaire du prix Rosalie Bertell de l'Institut international de préoccupation pour la santé publique, qui lui a été décerné pour services exceptionnels dans le domaine de la santé environnementale.
 
Lorraine est actuellement porte-parole en matière d'affaires autochtones au sein du Cabinet fantôme du Parti vert et a été deux fois candidate fédérale pour le Parti dans Algoma-Manitoulin-Kapuskasing. Elle partage son temps entre ses fonctions à Ottawa, son travail dans son entreprise familiale à Kemptville et son travail à titre de présidente du Grenville Centre for Social Studies.
 
Lorraine se consacre à équilibrer ses rôles d'avocate, de mère, d'épouse et de grand-mère. Elle est d'origine algonquine.