Lanark—Frontenac—Kingston

Stephen Kotze is a skilled facilitator and respected leader. For the past twenty years, he has served his community as an accounting professional, working with individuals, small-businesses and not-for-profit organizations to strengthen their long-term viability through solid financial practices and processes. Prior work experience includes nine months as Executive Director of the Canadian Environmental Network, which connected him with leaders across the country and honed his leadership and networking skills.
 
As a thirty-five-year resident of Lanark County, where he raised his family with his wife of almost forty years, Rosemary, Stephen is passionate about his community and has volunteered extensively. He is currently the Treasurer of the Mississippi Madawaska Land Trust, an organization dedicated to the long-term preservation of land and the strengthening of human connection to the land.
 
Stephen has decided to run for the Green Party because he wants to continue his service to the people of his community, and because he believes that the Green Party is the party of the 21st century. He has always had an interest in politics and believes in the ability of the political process to effect meaningful change. He is passionate about our human connection to the natural world and the impact we are having on this planet, and he sees the Green Party as the only party that is taking climate change seriously.
 
However, Stephen recognizes that the Green Party is much more than an environmental party, with policies to address and respond to a full range of issues. He is particularly keen on taxation models that lower income taxes and increase taxes on pollution, but he is also a realist who recognizes that change needs to happen at a pace that people can manage.
 
Stephen is a parent, grandparent and mentor. He loves to read, write, hike, canoe, play soccer and make music with his friends and family.

Lanark—Frontenac—Kingston

Stephen Kotze est un facilitateur compétent et un leader respecté. Au cours des vingt dernières années, il a servi sa communauté en tant que professionnel comptable, travaillant avec des particuliers, des petites entreprises et des organismes sans but lucratif pour renforcer leur viabilité à long terme grâce à des pratiques et des processus financiers solides. Auparavant, il a occupé le poste de directeur général du Réseau canadien de l'environnement pendant neuf mois, ce qui lui a permis d'établir des liens avec des leaders de partout au pays et d'affiner ses compétences en leadership et en réseautage.
 
Résident du comté de Lanark depuis trente-cinq ans, où il a élevé sa famille avec sa femme Rosemary, son épouse depuis presque quarante ans, Stephen est passionné par sa communauté et a fait beaucoup de bénévolat. Il est actuellement trésorier de la Mississippi Madawaska Land Trust, un organisme voué à la préservation à long terme des terres et au renforcement des liens humains avec la terre.
 
Stephen a décidé de se porter candidat au Parti vert parce qu'il veut continuer à servir les gens de sa communauté et parce qu'il croit que le Parti vert est le parti du 21e siècle. Il s'est toujours intéressé à la politique et croit en la capacité d'apporter des changements significatifs à travers notre processus politique. Il est passionné par les liens entre l’humain, le monde naturel, et l'impact que nous avons sur la planète, et il voit le Parti vert comme le seul parti qui prend les changements climatiques au sérieux.
 
Toutefois, Stephen reconnaît que le Parti vert est beaucoup plus qu'un parti environnemental, avec des politiques pour aborder et répondre à une gamme complète de problèmes. Il s'intéresse particulièrement aux modèles fiscaux qui réduisent l'impôt sur le revenu et augmentent les taxes sur la pollution, mais il est également réaliste en reconnaissant que le changement doit se produire à un rythme que les gens peuvent gérer.
 
Stephen est un parent, un grand-parent et un mentor. Il aime lire, écrire, faire de la randonnée, du canot et de la musique avec ses amis et sa famille.