Kingston and the Islands

Candice Christmas is motivated by work that addresses issues of equity, social justice and civil society in Canada and abroad. With fifteen years experience in project management of interdisciplinary research in the private and public sectors, Candice is an expert in knowledge translation and exchange. 

Candice has a dual major DEC degree in psychology and philosophy from John Abbott College, a Minor in Political Science from McGill, a BA Honours in History and a Master of Arts in Health Geography from Queen’s University. This summer she will defend her doctoral dissertation “Voices for Youth Wellness” in the field of health policy and equity. She has policy expertise in many areas, including: carbon taxation, alternative energy sectors, post-secondary medical education, early childhood development and care, youth mental health and wellness, spatial epidemiology, housing and food security.

Candice has significant experience working with the media from her years at the Kingston Economic Development Corporation, as well as presenting policy and programming to varied stakeholders. She believes the green movement is about sustainability and should be built for, and with, youth and Millennials. 

Candice and her partner are the proud parents of two teenagers, and in her spare time Candice enjoys traveling, cooking, gardening and photography. Born and raised in Montreal, she is fluent in French and English.

Kingston et les Îles

Candice Christmas est motivée par une vocation qui aborde les questions d'équité, de justice sociale et de société civile au Canada et à l'étranger. Avec quinze ans d'expérience en gestion de projets de recherche interdisciplinaire dans les secteurs privé et public, Candice est une experte en application et en échange des connaissances. 

Candice détient un double DEC en psychologie et en philosophie du Collège John Abbott, une mineure en science politiques de McGill, un baccalauréat spécialisé en histoire et une maîtrise en géographie de la santé de l'Université Queen's. Cet été, elle défendra sa thèse de doctorat « Voices for Youth Wellness » dans le domaine de la politique de santé et de l'équité. Elle possède une expertise en matière de politiques dans de nombreux domaines, notamment la taxation du carbone, les secteurs des énergies de remplacement, l'éducation postsecondaire en médecine, le développement et les soins de la petite enfance, la santé mentale et le bien-être des jeunes, l'épidémiologie spatiale, le logement et la sécurité alimentaire.

Candice possède une vaste expérience de travail avec les médias, qu'elle a acquise au cours de ses années à la Kingston Economic Development Corporation, en plus de présenter des politiques et des programmes à divers intervenants. Elle croit que le mouvement vert est une question de durabilité et qu'il devrait être construit pour et avec les jeunes et les milléniaux. 

Candice et son partenaire sont les fiers parents de deux adolescents. Dans ses temps libres, Candice aime voyager, cuisiner, jardiner et faire de la photographie. Née et élevée à Montréal, elle parle couramment le français et l'anglais.