Hamilton Centre

Jason Lopez was born and raised in a small home in Hamilton Centre, the son of immigrant parents. Growing up, his family did not own a car, so he learned early to rely on public transit and has continued to embrace environmentally sustainable options in all aspects of life.

Jason has spent the last 25 years working for a local small business, supporting green initiatives like the adoption of solar energy and an electronics recycling program. Throughout his life, he has been a believer in long-term thinking, preferring saving and investing over excessive consumerism. His life, and politics, is guided by purpose and principles over the accumulation of wealth. Honesty, integrity and compassion are his core values.

Though Jason has voted Green in the past, he never considered himself particularly political. That changed in 2017, when he watched British Columbia elect North America's first Green caucus. Jason began to look into the Green Party more deeply and discovered that their core values resonated deeply with him. In 2018, he ran as the Green Party of Ontario candidate for Hamilton Centre, an amazing experience that reaffirmed his passion for environmental activism and prepared him for a federal run in 2019. 

Jason currently serves as the CEO of the Hamilton Centre Electoral District Association, where he has been trying to grow the party through engaging youth and holding monthly meetings. His hope is to create a green movement in Hamilton, cementing the Green Party as a viable option to the political status quo. 

As a vegetarian, Jason is a proponent of animal welfare and the ecological and ethical benefits of a plant-based diet. He is also a student of history and an avid book lover.

Hamilton-Centre

Jason Lopez est né et a grandi dans une petite maison à Hamilton-Centre. Il est le fils de parents immigrants. Comme ils n’avait pas accès à une voiture, lui et sa famille ont appris très tôt à compter sur le transport en commun et a continué d'adopter des options respectueuses de l'environnement dans tous les aspects de leurs vies.

Jason a passé les 25 dernières années à travailler pour une petite entreprise locale, soutenant des initiatives vertes comme l'adoption de l'énergie solaire et un programme de recyclage des produits électroniques. Il privilégie un mode de vie qui s’appuie sur le long terme, préférant l'épargne et l'investissement au consumérisme excessif. Sa vie et sa politique se basent sur un but et des principes et non sur l'accumulation de la richesse. L'honnêteté, l'intégrité et la compassion sont ses valeurs fondamentales.

Bien que Jason ait voté vert dans le passé, il ne s'est jamais considéré comme particulièrement politisé. Cela a changé en 2017, lorsqu'il a vu la Colombie-Britannique élire le premier caucus vert d'Amérique du Nord. Jason a commencé à s'intéresser de plus près au Parti vert et a découvert que leurs valeurs fondamentales résonnaient profondément en lui. En 2018, il s'est présenté comme candidat du Parti vert de l'Ontario pour Hamilton-Centre, une expérience incroyable qui a réaffirmé sa passion pour l'activisme environnemental et l'a préparé à la campagne fédérale de 2019. 

Jason est actuellement premier dirigeant de l'association de circonscription électorale de Hamilton-Centre, où il s'efforce de faire grandir le Parti en mobilisant les jeunes et en organisant des réunions mensuelles. Son espoir est de créer un mouvement vert à Hamilton, cimentant ainsi le Parti vert comme une option viable au statu quo politique. 

En tant que végétarien, Jason est un partisan du bien-être animal et des avantages écologiques et éthiques d'une alimentation à base de plantes. Il est aussi un étudiant en histoire et un passionné de livres.