Haldimand—Norfolk

Brooke Martin is a Registered Nurse, born and raised in Norfolk County. Brooke graduated with distinction from Western University with a Bachelors of Science Degree in Nursing. She was hired shortly after, and has since become a member of two committees at her rural hospital where she has been working with the interdisciplinary team to improve patient care. Brooke has seen how social determinants of health like poverty negatively impact her patients. She is proud to be a member of a political party that uses evidenced-informed policies and upstream thinking to reduce the incidence of disease and illness, rather than just treating them once they occur. 
 
Brooke became a member of the Green Party because she thinks Canada deserves a transparent government that puts the needs of constituents above those of political parties. She believes communities need to be more resilient and self-sufficient, and that a triple bottom line approach of considering the economic, environmental, and social impacts of new policies is necessary.
Brooke is an avid gardener, and has been a volunteer with the Charlotteville Agricultural Society since elementary school. She understands that small-scale, locally grown, organic agriculture can help mitigate climate change; restore soil health; protect our water; and provide food security, health, and sustainable livelihoods.
 
Brooke is proud of the entrepreneurial spirit of Haldimand-Norfolk and thinks it could be an example to other communities across Canada. This area was once largely tobacco based and when tobacco use declined, it was stressful for many at first. However, it resulted in agriculture diversification and a focus on eco-tourism which has made the community more unique and resilient. Brooke thinks areas currently relying on the oil industry could use places like Haldimand-Norfolk as a model of what is possible if the future is looked upon with creativity and an open mind.

Haldimand—Norfolk

Brooke Martin est une infirmière née et élevée dans le comté de Norfolk. Brooke a obtenu un baccalauréat en sciences infirmières de l'Université Western avec distinction. Elle a été embauchée peu de temps après et est depuis devenue membre de deux comités à son hôpital rural où elle travaille avec l'équipe interdisciplinaire pour améliorer les soins aux patients. Brooke a vu comment les déterminants sociaux de la santé comme la pauvreté ont un impact négatif sur ses patients. Elle est fière d'être membre d'un parti politique qui utilise des politiques fondées sur des données probantes et une réflexion en amont pour réduire l'incidence des maladies et des infections plutôt que de les traiter une fois qu'elles surviennent. 
 
Brooke est devenue membre du Parti vert parce qu'elle estime que le Canada mérite un gouvernement transparent qui place les besoins des électeurs avant ceux des partis politiques. Elle croit que les collectivités doivent être plus résilientes et autosuffisantes et qu'il est nécessaire d'adopter une approche à trois volets, à savoir l'examen des répercussions économiques, environnementales et sociales des nouvelles politiques.
Brooke est une passionnée de jardinage et fait du bénévolat à la Charlotteville Agricultural Society depuis l'école primaire. Elle comprend que l'agriculture biologique à petite échelle, cultivée localement, peut contribuer à atténuer les changements climatiques, à restaurer la santé des sols, à protéger notre eau et à assurer la sécurité alimentaire, la santé et des moyens de subsistance durables.
 
Brooke est fière de l'esprit d'entreprise de Haldimand-Norfolk et pense qu'il pourrait servir d'exemple à d'autres communautés partout au Canada. Il fut un temps où cette région était en grande partie axée sur le tabac et lorsque l'usage du tabac a diminué, certaines communautés craignaient pour leur économie. Cependant, elle a permis de diversifier l'agriculture et de mettre l'accent sur l'écotourisme, ce qui a rendu la collectivité plus unique et plus résiliente. Brooke estime que les régions qui dépendent actuellement de l'industrie pétrolière pourraient utiliser des endroits comme Haldimand-Norfolk comme modèle de ce qui est possible si l'avenir est envisagé avec créativité et un esprit ouvert.