Brantford—Brant

Bob Jonkman has championed Proportional Representation since he first volunteered for Fair Vote Canada in the 2007 referendum. As an Executive Member of the very active Fair Vote Waterloo Region Chapter, Bob came to believe electoral reform could best be accomplished by entering politics. He ran for office federally in 2015 and provincially in 2018 as the Green Party candidate in Kitchener—Conestoga.

Working with local social justice organizations has helped foster Bob’s commitment to achieving the goals of equity and inclusion. His community service includes work with the WRNonviolence Day In The Park, KWPeace, and as an active member of the Social Development Council of Waterloo Region. Bob has volunteered with the PTA, worked to save Victoria Glen Park from development, fought the placement of a biogas mega plant in downtown Elmira, and served on the Elmira BioFuel Citizens’ Committee. In his spare time, Bob enjoys volunteering with CKMS-FM, the local community radio station where he is on the Board of Directors.

Bob’s digital community service includes organizing and giving presentations at computer user group meetings. As a long time member of the Free Software community, Bob encourages the use of software that respects computer users’ freedom. He is a strong advocate for transparent government and freely available open data in government and business, balanced with protection of personal privacy through cryptography and safe online practices.

Professionally, Bob is a small business owner providing computer consulting, technical support and training to large and small Ontario businesses. Born in the Netherlands and raised in Burlington, Ontario, Bob and his partner Laurel chose to move to Elmira to raise their son twenty years ago.

Bob’s commitment to the Green Party is rooted in shared values that have inspired his work to enact positive change for a stronger democracy and a sustainable future.

Brantford—Brant

Bob Jonkman milite pour la représentation proportionnelle depuis sa première expérience de bénévolat pour le Mouvement pour le vote équitable au Canada lors du référendum de 2007. En tant que membre de l'exécutif de la section très active de la région de Waterloo, Bob en est venu à croire que la meilleure façon de réformer le système électoral était de s'engager en politique. Il se présente aux élections fédérales en 2015 et aux élections provinciales en 2018 comme candidat du Parti vert dans Kitchener-Conestoga.

Le fait de travailler avec des organismes locaux de justice sociale aide Bob à s'engager à atteindre les objectifs d'équité et d'inclusion. Son service communautaire comprend le travail avec le WRNonviolence Day In The Park, KWPeace, et en tant que membre actif du Social Development Council of Waterloo Region. Bob a fait du bénévolat auprès de l'APT, a travaillé pour sauver Victoria Glen Park du développement, s'est opposé à l'implantation d'une méga-usine de biogaz au centre-ville d'Elmira et a siégé au comité de citoyens d'Elmira BioFuel. Dans ses temps libres, Bob aime faire du bénévolat pour CKMS-FM, la station de radio communautaire locale dont il fait partie du conseil d'administration.

Le service communautaire numérique de Bob comprend l'organisation et la présentation d'exposés lors de réunions de groupes d'utilisateurs d'ordinateurs. En tant que membre de longue date de la communauté du logiciel libre, Bob encourage l'utilisation de logiciels qui respectent la liberté des utilisateurs d'ordinateurs. Il est un ardent défenseur d'un gouvernement transparent et de données ouvertes librement accessibles au sein du gouvernement et des entreprises, tout en protégeant la vie privée grâce à la cryptographie et à des pratiques en ligne sûres.

Sur le plan professionnel, Bob est propriétaire d'une petite entreprise et offre des services de consultation informatique, de soutien technique et de formation aux petites et grandes entreprises de l'Ontario. Né aux Pays-Bas et élevé à Burlington, en Ontario, Bob et sa partenaire Laurel ont choisi de déménager à Elmira pour élever leur fils il y a vingt ans.

L'engagement de Bob envers le Parti vert est enraciné dans des valeurs communes qui ont inspiré son travail visant à apporter des changements positifs pour une démocratie plus forte et un avenir durable.