Beaches—East York

Sean Manners was born and raised in Toronto, Ontario, to parents of European and Caribbean descent. He has studied political science and environmental ethics at the University of Toronto, and is a graduate student in environmental policy at Memorial University. He has called the Beaches—East York riding home for 22 years. 

Sean has been an active research assistant with the Environmental Policy Institute at Memorial University for the last four years. In this role, Sean has been involved with various tasks ranging from coordinating conferences to contributing to government research projects related to climate change. 

Coming from a multicultural background, fostering a sense of community in the places he lives is of integral importance to Sean. This is demonstrated by his commitment to social justice and activism in human rights and the environment. He has been an advocate for, and member of, several grassroots environmental action organizations. Through these experiences, he came to realize the critical role that environmental policy can play in addressing and causing social injustice. This contributed to his decision to run for the Green Party of Canada. 

Sean has been an active member of the Green Party of Canada since 2013. During his time, he was President of the University of Toronto Green Party and CEO and President of the Green Party’s Beaches—East York Riding Association. He has also served as a campaign manager and volunteer on various campaigns throughout the province. 

Sean believes that taking action on climate change should be a top priority for the federal government. He is also committed to decreasing student debt and eliminating university and college tuition fees. The Green Party of Canada’s commitment to good government and restoring our democracy through proportional representation solidified his resolve to run for the Green Party in 2019.

Beaches—East York

Sean Manners est né et a grandi à Toronto de parents d'origine européenne et antillaise. Il a étudié la science politique et l'éthique de l'environnement à l'Université de Toronto et il est étudiant diplômé en politique environnementale à l'Université Memorial. Cela fait 22 ans qu'il habite la circonscription de Beaches-East York. 

Au cours des quatre dernières années, Sean a été un assistant de recherche actif au Environmental Policy Institute de l'Université Memorial. À ce titre, Sean a participé à diverses tâches allant de la coordination de conférences à la contribution à des projets de recherche gouvernementaux liés aux changements climatiques. 

Issu d'un milieu multiculturel, Sean accorde une importance primordiale à la promotion d'un sentiment d'appartenance à la communauté dans les endroits où il vit. Son engagement en faveur de la justice sociale et de l'activisme en faveur des droits de l'homme et de l'environnement en est la preuve. Il a défendu les intérêts de plusieurs organismes d'action environnementale et en a été membre. Ces expériences lui ont permis de prendre conscience du rôle primordial que la politique environnementale peut jouer dans la lutte contre l'injustice sociale et les causes de celle-ci. C'est ce qui l'a incité à se porter candidat pour le Parti vert du Canada. 

Sean est un membre actif du Parti vert du Canada depuis 2013. Pendant son mandat, il a été président du Parti vert de l'Université de Toronto et chef de la direction et président de l’ACÉ de Beaches-East York. Il a également été directeur de campagne et bénévole dans le cadre de diverses campagnes partout dans la province. 

Sean croit que le gouvernement fédéral devrait accorder une priorité absolue à la lutte contre les changements climatiques. Il s'est également engagé à réduire l'endettement étudiant et à éliminer les frais de scolarité des universités et des collèges. L'engagement du Parti vert du Canada à l'égard d'un bon gouvernement et du rétablissement de notre démocratie par la représentation proportionnelle a renforcé sa détermination à se porter candidat pour le Parti vert en 2019.