Notre-Dame-de-Grâce—Westmount

Since joining the teaching staff at Westmount High School in 2006, Robert Green has distinguished himself as a passionate and outspoken advocate for public education. He has had numerous opinion pieces published by the Montreal Gazette and Ricochet Media and is frequently interviewed about education issues by nearly every English media outlet in Montreal.

In 2016, Robert was invited to serve as the chair and spokesperson of the Committee for the Enhancement of the History Curriculum – Quebec. This committee was formed by various groups representing parents and teachers in Quebec’s English school system, with the mission to speak out about the very serious problems with the representation of Indigenous and minority communities in Quebec’s recently reformed history curriculum. In 2013 and 2014, Robert played a leading role in mobilizing the Westmount High School community against the PQ’s Charter of Values and produced the viral video “A Lesson in Values for Madam Marois.”
 
Robert’s motivation for running for the Green Party is also directly related to his work as a social sciences teacher. “As a teacher I spend my days working with young people whose futures will be directly affected by our continued failure to address the current climate emergency,” Green said, “This has left me with a profound sense that I need to do more. We all need to do much more.”

Robert’s political involvement began as a student at Concordia University where he held several positions including two terms as President of the Concordia Student Union, National Executive Representative for Quebec with the Canadian Federation of Students, and Board of Directors member with the Quebec Public Interest Research Group – Concordia. 

Robert then did two internships with Montreal-based NGO Alternatives in Senegal where he helped train a network of Senegalese youth in preparing a series of popular education workshops on the effects of globalization and climate change. 

Robert holds a bachelor’s degree in religious studies with a minor in anthropology and a graduate diploma in community economic development, both from Concordia University. He also holds a Bachelor of Education from McGill University.

Notre-Dame-de-Grâce—Westmount

Depuis qu'il s'est joint au personnel enseignant de l'école secondaire Westmount en 2006, Robert Green se distingue comme un défenseur passionné et franc de l'éducation publique. Il a publié de nombreux articles d'opinion dans la Gazette de Montréal et Ricochet Media et est fréquemment interviewé sur des questions d'éducation par presque tous les médias anglophones de Montréal.

En 2016, Robert est invité à agir comme président et porte-parole du Comité pour la mise en valeur du curriculum en histoire à Québec. Ce comité est formé par divers groupes représentant les parents et les enseignants du système scolaire anglophone du Québec et a pour mission de dénoncer les très graves problèmes de représentation des communautés autochtones et minoritaires dans le programme d'histoire du Québec récemment réformé. En 2013 et 2014, Robert joue un rôle de premier plan dans la mobilisation de la communauté de l'école secondaire de Westmount contre la Charte des valeurs du PQ et a produit la vidéo virale « Une leçon de valeurs pour Madame Marois ».
 
La motivation de Robert de se porter candidat pour le Parti vert est aussi directement liée à son travail d'enseignant en sciences sociales. « En tant qu'enseignant, je passe mes journées à travailler avec des jeunes dont l'avenir sera directement affecté par notre incapacité continue à faire face à l'urgence climatique actuelle », affirme M. Green, « Ce qui m'a donné le sentiment profond que je dois en faire plus. Nous devons tous en faire beaucoup plus. »

L'engagement politique de Robert débute alors qu'il étudie à l'Université Concordia, où il occupe plusieurs postes, dont deux mandats à titre de président de l'Union étudiante Concordia, de représentant exécutif national pour le Québec auprès de la Fédération canadienne des étudiantes et étudiants et de membre du conseil d'administration du Groupe de recherche d'intérêt public du Québec de son université. 

Robert effectue ensuite deux stages avec l'ONG montréalaise Alternatives au Sénégal où il contribue à former un réseau de jeunes Sénégalais à préparer une série d'ateliers d'éducation populaire sur les effets de la mondialisation et du changement climatique. 

Robert détient un baccalauréat en études religieuses avec une mineure en anthropologie ainsi qu’un diplôme d'études supérieures en développement économique communautaire de l'Université Concordia. Il détient également un baccalauréat en éducation de l'Université McGill.