La Prairie

Barbara Joannette

Barbara Joannette was born in the beautiful capital of Quebec City, where she spent most of her youth and early adulthood. From high school onwards, she has had a keen interest in everything related to science, which led her to pursue an Honours Bachelor's degree in Biology, as well as a certificate in teaching for the college and high school levels, at Université Laval in Quebec City. She then went on to do a minor in history at the Université de Montréal.

Always connected to science and the earth, Barbara caught the bug of horticulture and studied for three years in horticultural production and environmental technology. She has been working in this field for more than 20 years in private companies as well as at the municipal level.

Her strong interest in politics took shape when Barbara helped build a municipal political party from the ground up. She ran as a mayoral candidate with her team in the city of La Prairie in the 2017 municipal election, and succeeded in obtaining over 30% of the vote. Among other things, her party promised to help save the magnificent ecosystem located on the La Prairie golf course from destruction by turning it into a protected provincial park. This diverse ecosystem is made up of century-old trees and countless animal, insect and fish species. This effort made up the backbone of her party’s conservation initiatives, along with a plan to transform the former brickworks into a mega natural park with a beautiful lake for aquatic recreational activities, an archaeological fossil research site and a science centre.

Barbara is excited to bring her passion for environmental sustainability to the national level, and to continue working with residents across the riding of La Prairie.

La Prairie

Barbara Joannette

Barbara Joannette est née dans la belle ville de Québec, où elle passe la majeure partie de sa jeunesse et le début de sa vie adulte. Depuis l'école secondaire, elle s'intéresse vivement à tout ce qui a trait aux sciences. Cette passion lui permet d’obtenir un baccalauréat spécialisé en biologie ainsi qu'un certificat en enseignement pour les niveaux collégial et secondaire de l'Université Laval à Québec. Elle complète ensuite une mineure en histoire à l'Université de Montréal.

Toujours liée à la science et à la terre, Barbara est passionnée part l'horticulture et étudie pendant trois ans la production horticole et la technologie environnementale. Elle travaille dans ce domaine depuis plus de 20 ans au sein d’entreprises privées ainsi qu'au niveau municipal.

Son vif intérêt pour la politique se manifeste lorsque Barbara contribue à la création d’un parti politique municipal. Elle se présente comme candidate à la mairie avec son équipe dans la ville de La Prairie lors des élections municipales de 2017 et parvient à obtenir plus de 30 % des voix. Entre autres choses, son parti promet d'aider à sauver le magnifique écosystème situé sur le terrain de golf de La Prairie de la destruction en le transformant en parc provincial protégé. Cet écosystème diversifié se compose d'arbres centenaires et d'innombrables espèces animales, d'insectes et de poissons. Cet effort constitue l'épine dorsale des initiatives de conservation de son parti, ainsi qu'un plan visant à transformer l'ancienne briqueterie en un parc naturel doté d'un magnifique lac pour les activités récréatives aquatiques, d'un site de recherche archéologique sur les fossiles et d'un centre scientifique.

Barbara est ravie de transmettre sa passion pour la durabilité de l'environnement à l'échelle nationale et de continuer à travailler avec les résidents de l'ensemble de la circonscription de La Prairie.