Charlottetown

Darcie Lanthier has dedicated her life to critical social and economic issues including environmental protection, poverty reduction, food security, access to justice, and moving Canada toward renewable energy. She is a firm believer in Canadians and their capacity to mobilize for positive change. 

Whenever she encounters injustice, Darcie steps up.

In her work as a Public Legal Information Officer, Darcie helps people understand the law and navigate the justice system. She is compassionate in her work, providing an empathetic ear and plain language information to people in legal distress. Her specialties include legal education outreach to seniors and newcomers. Darcie believes access to justice is essential for the well-being of individuals as well as for the health of the nation.

Darcie is also a trained energy systems technologist with a specialization in solar photovoltaics. She performs energy audits, is a staunch advocate for renewable energy, and has plans to make our homes and workplaces more sustainable. As well as saving her clients money, she engages them to become part of the energy solution. She believes energy efficiency will not only benefit our economy now, but will ensure our children and their children have a safe and healthy place to live.

As an entrepreneur, Darcie understands, first-hand, the lived experiences of small business owners. One of her favourite projects was redeveloping an 1845 heritage building in Charlottetown, P.E.I. She transformed the upper floors into the energy efficient "Mermaid Suites", a Canada Select 4-Star Property that was named Downtown Charlottetown Inc.'s 2005 Business Improvement of the Year.

A supporter and promoter of Island and Canadian artists, Darcie co-founded Mermaid ART Inc., the foremost art publisher in Atlantic Canada. Her company supplied artwork to hotels, public buildings, and private collections. She also managed all operations of the Mermaid Gallery. She recognizes the socio-political and cultural importance of art in Canada.

Darcie's commitment to grassroots democracy, green values, and the Green Party was acknowledged when she received The Green Party of PEI - 2019 Legacy Award, saying, "This is an enormous honour because it came from the party members." She has served as a Green Party organizer, recruiter, treasurer, campaign manager, interim leader, deputy leader, and twice as a candidate. She has also been lauded by the Green Party for her community engagement. She received the Green Party of Canada's 2014 Community Involvement Award for her work with Island groups including the Voluntary Resource Council, the Citizens' Alliance, Food Exchange PEI, Pesticide Free PEI, and the Legacy Garden. Darcie is also a lifetime member of the PEI Women's Institute and has served on the Provincial Board.

An active and enthusiastic member of the Island community, Darcie can often be found cycling with Peter, her husband of thirty-two years. They have three adult sons, Ian, Phillip, and David.

Charlottetown

Darcie Lanthier a consacré sa vie à des questions sociales et économiques fondamentales, notamment la protection de l'environnement, la réduction de la pauvreté, la sécurité alimentaire, l'accès à la justice et la transition du Canada vers les énergies renouvelables. Elle croit fermement en la capacité des Canadiens de se mobiliser pour un changement positif. 
 
Chaque fois qu'elle constate une injustice, Darcie intervient.
 
Dans son travail d'agente d'information juridique publique, Darcie aide les gens à comprendre la loi et le système judiciaire. Elle fait preuve de compassion dans son travail en offrant une oreille empathique et une information en langage simple aux personnes en détresse juridique. Elle se spécialise notamment dans l'éducation juridique auprès des personnes âgées et des nouveaux arrivants. Darcie croit que l'accès à la justice est essentiel pour le bien-être des individus ainsi que pour la santé de la nation.
 
Darcie est également une technologue formée en systèmes énergétiques avec une spécialisation en photovoltaïque solaire. Elle effectue des vérifications énergétiques, elle défend l’énergie renouvelable et elle a l'intention de rendre nos maisons et nos lieux de travail plus durables. En plus de faire économiser de l'argent à ses clients, elle les implique dans la solution énergétique. Elle estime que l'efficacité énergétique profitera non seulement à notre économie dès maintenant, mais qu'elle assurera à nos enfants et à leurs enfants un endroit sûr et sain pour vivre.
 
En tant qu'entrepreneure, Darcie comprend plutôt bien les expériences vécues par les propriétaires de petites entreprises. L'un de ses projets préférés fut le réaménagement d'un édifice patrimonial datant de 1845 à Charlottetown, à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Elle a transformé les étages supérieurs en « Mermaid Suites » éconergétiques, une propriété Canada Select 4 étoiles qui a été nommée « Amélioration commerciale de l'année 2005 » par Downtown Charlottetown Inc.
 
Darcie a cofondé Mermaid ART Inc, la plus importante maison d'édition d'art du Canada atlantique, en tant que commanditaire et promotrice des artistes de l'Île et du Canada. Sa société a fourni des œuvres d'art à des hôtels, des bâtiments publics et à des collections privées. Elle a également géré toutes les opérations de la Mermaid Gallery. Elle reconnaît l'importance sociopolitique et culturelle de l'art au Canada.
 
L'engagement de Darcie envers la démocratie, les valeurs vertes et le Parti vert a été reconnu lorsqu'elle a reçu le prix de l'héritage du Parti vert de l'Î.-P.-É. - 2019 en affirmant : « C'est un honneur énorme parce qu'il vient des membres du Parti ». Elle a été organisatrice, recruteuse, trésorière, directrice de campagne, directrice de campagne, chef intérimaire, chef adjointe et deux fois candidate du Parti vert de l'Î.-P.-É. . Elle a également été louée par le Parti pour son engagement communautaire. Elle a reçu le Prix de l'engagement communautaire 2014 du Parti vert du Canada pour son travail avec des groupes de l'Île, notamment le Conseil des ressources bénévoles, l'Alliance des citoyens, Food Exchange PEI, Pesticide Free PEI et le Legacy Garden. Darcie est également membre à vie du PEI Women's Institute et a siégé au conseil provincial.
 
Membre actif et enthousiaste de la communauté de l'Île, Darcie fait souvent du vélo avec Peter, son mari depuis trente-deux ans. Ils ont trois fils, Ian, Phillip et David.