How to write a letter to the editor

Tips Included!

  • Salutation (Pro Tip - Never write “Dear Sir/Madam”. It’s old fashioned and cumbersome. “Dear Editor” succinctly covers all your bases, and saves you the hassle of trying to determine the actual name of the editor of your target publication. You may determine where to direct letters to the editor, in the online, “Submissions” section, of any given publication.):

    • Dear Editor,
       
  • Catchy Title Phrase (Pro Tip - Do your best to write something appropriate as a summary title, because if you don’t write one, the editor will, and his or her headline might not be desirable.):

    • That There Would Be Any Debate At All is Tragic
       
  • Body (Pro Tip - Strictly limit your word count to 140 - 150 words. Doing so increases the likelihood that your letter will be published, and decreases the possibility that the editor will delete or change your words.):

    • Dennis Brown, president of Flags Unlimited, affirmed his commitment to offering the Confederate flag to consumers, saying that he won’t remove it unless the “international community” has a “conversation” about its inappropriateness. Mr. Brown, what are you waiting for?
    • Flags are powerful symbols. The Canadian flag symbolizes liberation from oppression and tyranny. The Confederate flag is a powerful symbol, too. So powerful, in fact, that the Ku Klux Klan proudly uses it as their emblem.
    • There should be no debate. Anyone who would argue that it symbolizes historical heritage, cultural uniqueness or southern pride, is, at best, tone deaf to the reality that millions of African Canadians and Americans might feel otherwise.
       
  • Conclusion (Pro Tip - Make your conclusion as tight and powerful as possible, to summarize the theme[s] in the body of your letter.):

    • To them, the Confederate flag symbolizes slavery, white domination, racist hatred and violence. Flags symbolize leadership, too. Mr. Brown, demonstrate leadership. Stop selling the shameful Confederate flag now.
       
  • Closing (Pro Tip - “Thank you” is all that’s required here. Nothing more or less.):

    • Thank you,
       
  • Signature (Pro Tip - Always include your first and last name, title, full address and phone number. Failure to include any of these will result in your letter not being published. Note - The news publication will NOT print your address or phone number, but they need these to verify that you are a bona fide writer, and not a “bot”. You may also request that your name be withheld, but you must still identify yourself to the Editor for your letter to be eligible for submission.):

    • Jane Doe
      Green Party Candidate for Some Riding
      XX Pretty Trees Road
      City, Province
      Postal Code
      Phone Number

Écrire une lettre à la rédaction

Astuces comprises!

  • Appel (Astuce de pro — n’écrivez jamais « Cher monsieur/madame ». Cela fait vieux jeu et fastidieux. « À la rédaction » satisfait tous les critères avec brièveté et vous épargne une longue recherche afin d’essayer de trouver le vrai nom du rédacteur de la publication visée. Vous pouvez adresser vos lettres à la rédaction en ligne dans la section « Rédaction » de toute publication donnée.) :

    • À la rédaction, 
       
  • Phrase d’introduction accrocheuse (Astuce de pro — faites de votre mieux pour écrire quelque chose d’approprié comme titre de sommaire, parce que si vous n’en incluez pas, la rédaction s'en chargera et sa manchette pourrait ne pas vous convenir.) :

    • La perspective qu’il n’y ait aucun débat est tragique
       
  • Corps (Astuce de pro — tenez-vous-en rigoureusement à 140 ou 150 mots. Agir ainsi accroît la possibilité que votre lettre soit publiée et décroît la possibilité que la rédaction élimine ou modifie son contenu.) :

    • Dennis Brown, président de Drapeaux illimité, a réitéré son engagement d’offrir un drapeau de la Confédération aux consommateurs, affirmant qu’il ne le retirera pas à moins que la « communauté internationale » n’ait une « conversation » sur son caractère inapproprié. Monsieur Brown, qu’attendez-vous?
    • Les drapeaux constituent des symboles forts. Le drapeau canadien symbolise la libération de l’oppression et de la tyrannie. Le drapeau de la Confédération est un symbole puissant lui aussi. Si puissant, en fait, que le Ku Klux Klan l’utilise fièrement comme emblème.
    • Il ne devrait pas y avoir de débat. Quiconque affirme qu’il symbolise un patrimoine historique, une singularité culturelle ou la fierté du Sud est, au mieux, complètement sourd à la réalité que des millions de Canadiens et d’Américains d’origine africaine peuvent voir les choses autrement. 
       
  • Conclusion (Astuce de pro — tirez des conclusions aussi serrées et fortes que possible, pour résumer les thèmes du corps de votre lettre.) :

    • Pour eux, le drapeau de la Confédération symbolise l’esclavage, la domination blanche, la haine raciale et la violence. Les drapeaux symbolisent la direction, aussi. Monsieur Brown, démontrez de la direction. Cessez de vendre le honteux drapeau de la Confédération dès maintenant.
       
  • Salutation (Astuce de pro — « Merci » est suffisant ici. Rien de plus, rien de moins.) :

    • Merci,
       
  • Signature (Astuce de pro — indiquez toujours votre prénom et votre nom de famille, le titre, l’adresse complète et le numéro de téléphone. L’omission d’indiquer cette information empêchera la publication de votre lettre. Remarque : les nouvelles publications ne vont PAS imprimer votre adresse ou votre numéro de téléphone, mais elles en ont besoin pour vérifier que vous êtes un rédacteur authentique et non un « robot ». Vous pouvez aussi demander que votre nom reste anonyme, mais vous devez quand même vous identifier auprès de la rédaction pour que votre lettre soit admissible à la publication.) :

    • Jane DoeCandidate du Parti vert dans une quelconque circonscriptionXX, rue des Beaux-Arbres Ville, provinceCode postalNuméro de téléphone