Talking points


Trying to convince someone that PR is the way forward? Here are a few tips with what we find works.

  • Democracy should mean every vote matters.  Proportional Representation (PR) is about ensuring every vote is counted equally. It is about ensuring that every Canadian can directly impact the election result, and therefore the formation of our government.

  • Though majoritarian voting systems like our current first-past-the-post (FPTP) work well when there are only two candidates, in a country like Canada – where since the 1920s we have had a multi-party system with three to five national parties winning seats in Parliament – the FPTP system produces very perverse results.

  • Since the First World War, Canada has elected seventeen “majority” governments, but only four of those governments actually received more than half the popular vote. Only FPTP allows a minority of the voters to elect a majority of the seats.

  • The current Liberal majority is a false majority, with a popular vote of 39.47%. The previous Conservative majority was also a false majority, elected in 2011 with 39.62% of the vote. It is worrying to know that under FPTP every vote does not count equally -- in riding after riding, when an MP can win with 30% of the vote, that leaves 70% of the votes “orphaned.

  • When voters feel that their vote will make no difference to the outcome, they are less likely to vote. Indeed, countries with some form of proportional representation have, on average, 7% higher voter turnout than those voting with FPTP or ranked ballots (i.e. majoritarian voting systems).

  • PR will create a more fair, balanced, accountable, or representative government.

  • PR is a tested system – Many of the most prosperous and stable democracies in the world use PR (Norway, New Zealand, Sweden, etc.)

  • If your MP is a woman, you may want to mention that all countries with 30% or more women in the legislature have PR.

  • The category of proportional representation embraces a wide range of systems, with almost infinitely possible variations to meet national conditions. That is what makes it such an appealing solution; essentially, a proportional voting system can be “customized” to fit the unique requirements of any country, including Canada.

  • Any electoral reform should satisfy the following three conditions:

    • Any proposed voting system must be proportional. That is, it must ensure that the number of parliamentary seats assigned to each party roughly matches the proportion of the popular vote received by each party.

    • Any proposed voting system must maintain an element of local representation. It is critical that MPs remain responsible for, and accountable to, their communities and constituents.

    • Any proposed voting system must be tailored to Canada’s distinct geographic and demographic demands. That includes – but is not limited to – ensuring that people living in less populous and geographically isolated regions maintain adequate representation, and guaranteeing that First Nations rights remain protected.

Points à soulever


Cherchez-vous à persuader un interlocuteur que la représentation proportionnelle s’impose? Voici quelques arguments qui ne ratent jamais.

  • En démocratie, chaque vote doit compter. La représentation proportionnelle prend sa pertinence dans cette aspiration. Chaque Canadien doit pouvoir exercer un impact direct sur les résultats électoraux ainsi que sur la formation de notre gouvernement.

  • Le mode de scrutin uninominal majoritaire à un tour permet d'obtenir des résultats représentatifs lorsque seulement deux partis aspirent à la victoire. Cependant, le Canada compte entre trois et cinq formations politiques depuis les années 1920. Partant de ce fait, le système de votation actuel biaise les résultats électoraux.

  • Depuis la Première Guerre mondiale, 17 gouvernements « majoritaires » se sont succédé mais seulement quatre d'entre eux ont recueilli plus de la moitié du vote populaire. Seul un mode de scrutin uninominal majoritaire à un tour comme le nôtre permet à une minorité d'électeurs d'élire une majorité de députés.

  • Si on tient compte du point précédent, on constate que la majorité libérale actuelle de 39,47 % n'en est pas une. En 2011, le Parti conservateur obtenait également une fausse majorité avec 39,72% du vote populaire. Un candidat peut donc remporter une élection en obtenant seulement 30% du vote et en ne bénéficiant pas de l'appuie de 70 % des électeurs.

  • Lorsque les gens estiment que leur vote n'influencera pas le résultat d'une élection, ils se déplacent moins pour aller voter. Inversement, les pays qui utilisent une forme de mode de scrutin proportionnel affichent un taux de participation supérieur de 7% en moyenne à celui des pays utilisant un mode de scrutin uninominal ou préférentiel (les systèmes majoritaires).

  • La représentation proportionnelle assure un gouvernement plus équitable, plus équilibré, plus responsable et plus représentatif.

  • La représentation proportionnelle a fait ses preuves : de nombreuses démocraties prospères et stables ont adopté ce système (Norvège, Nouvelle-Zélande, Suède, etc.).

  • Si c'est une députée qui vous représente, vous pouvez lui mentionner que tous les pays qui comptent 30 % ou plus de femmes au gouvernement ont un système proportionnel.

  • La représentation proportionnelle peut prendre de nombreuses formes, et les systèmes de ce genre peuvent varier presque à l'infini pour se prêter aux circonstances nationales. C’est ce qui fait la beauté de cette solution : essentiellement, un système proportionnel peut être « adapté » pour répondre aux besoins particuliers de tout pays, y compris le Canada.

  • Toute réforme électorale devrait satisfaire aux trois critères suivants :

    • Tout système électoral proposé doit être proportionnel. Plus concrètement, il doit garantir que le nombre de sièges dévolu à chaque parti corresponde à la proportion du vote recueillie par chacun d'entre eux.

    • Tout système électoral proposé doit préserver un élément de représentation locale. Il est essentiel que les députés fédéraux demeurent responsables et rendent compte à leur collectivité et aux résidents de leur circonscription.
    • Tout système électoral proposé doit être adapté aux exigences géographiques et démographiques particulières au Canada. Ce qui exige, sans s’y limiter, que les gens qui vivent dans des régions moins populeuses et isolées géographiquement soient assurés d'une représentation suffisante et que les droits des Premières Nations soient protégés.