Congratulations, David, Megan and Kevin! Green wave washes across New Brunswick

OTTAWA -- Green Party of Canada Leader Elizabeth May (MP, Saanich-Gulf Islands) extended congratulations to the New Brunswick Greens for their history-making performance in today’s provincial election.

In 2014, David Coon (Fredericton South) became the first elected Green MLA in New Brunswick’s history. Today he is joined by Kevin Arseneau (Kent North) and Megan Mitton (Memramcook-Tantramar).

With three Green members heading to the New Brunswick parliament, there are now 10 elected Green Party legislators across Canada -- three in British Columbia, one in Ontario, two in Prince Edward Island and Ms. May in federal parliament.

“The Greens won over 10 percent of the popular vote, finished in second place in two ridings (Restigouche-West & Restigouche-Chaleur)‎ and David Coon now has a caucus!,” said Ms. May. “This is a great day for the Green Party of New Brunswick and a great day for New Brunswickers who will benefit from the wisdom and energy that this Green team will bring to the legislature. David’s deep commitment to the province has earned him the respect of New Brunswickers. With the addition of Kevin and Megan, more progress towards a greener, safer and fairer New Brunswick is guaranteed.”

“I congratulate David, Kevin and Megan for making history today and look forward to more results like this as Green momentum gains strength nationwide.”


For further information or to arrange an interview:

Rod Leggett
Press Secretary
613-562-4916 ext. 206