2021 Federal Council Appointments

An appointment process has been initiated to fill a vacancy for the following position:

  • VP Francophone (due to resignation)

The deadline to submit an application is March 5, 2021 at 3:00pm EST. Apply now >>

Appointment to Federal Council

Federal Council has the authority to fill, by appointment, any vacancy on Federal Council. The appointee will serve until the next Federal Council elections take place in Spring 2021. Read more about the role and responsibilities of Federal Council >>

Applicants must submit a complete application, including the required number of nominators for the relevant position. Members, including applicants, may not campaign or lobby in support of an applicant.

February 19th: Appointment applications open at 3:00pm EST.
March 5th: Appointment applications close at 3:00pm EST.
March 18th: Appointee selected by Federal Council.

Please contact governance.services@greenparty.ca with any questions.

Voting Report

View the full results of voting in the 2020 Federal Council elections >>

Federal Council

Federal Council is the governing body of the Green Party of Canada. There are 18 voting members consisting of 11 Provincial or Territorial Representatives, 1 President, 2 Vice Presidents, 1 Fund Representative, 2 Youth Representatives, and the Leader. Each Councillor is elected for two years. Half of the positions are elected in odd numbered years, while the other half are elected in even numbered years.

Federal Council governs the Green Party of Canada on behalf of members like you. It is essentially the board of the directors for the Party, determining planning, vision and budget.

More information

The rules governing this election >>
Job descriptions >>
Ballot instructions >>


elections@greenparty.ca or 1-866-868-3447