2019 Federal Council Elections

Federal Council

Federal Council is the governing body of the Green Party of Canada. There are 18 voting members consisting of 11 Provincial or Territorial Representatives, 1 President, 2 Vice Presidents, 1 Fund Representative, 2 Youth Representatives, the Leader and 2 Deputy Leaders. Each Councillor is elected for two years. Half of the positions are elected in odd numbered years, while the other half are elected in even numbered years.

Federal Council governs the Green Party of Canada on behalf of members like you. It is essentially the board of the directors for the Party, determining planning, vision and budget.

View current composition of Council >>


The deadline for nominations is February 23, 2019 at 11:59pm PST.
The deadline to sign up new members in order for them to be able to vote is March 8, 2019.
Voting will begin on March 8 and will be electronic; a paper ballot is available.
Voting will end on April 8 at 11:59pm PST.
The results of the election will be announced on this site by April 29, 2019.

Positions up for election

Vice President - Francophone
Alberta Representative
Manitoba Representative
New Brunswick Representative
Newfoundland and Labrador Representative
Quebec Representative
Territories Representative


The deadline for nominations is February 23 at 11:59pm PST.

The rules governing this election >>
Councillor Job Descriptions >>
Apply for a Council position >>


elections@greenparty.ca or 1-866-868-3447